What's new

Gillette Super Adjustable

I am going to be receiving a couple of vintage razors. Before today, I had no clue about what they were, but I just got a picture. They are actually my girlfriend's grandfather's razors and they are currently at her parents house. I just received this picture from my girlfriends mom.

$razors.jpg

Now I am still a newbie and do not have any real experience with vintage razor. However, I just did some looking on the B&B wiki, and it looks like they are both Gillette "Slim" super adjustables. The one on the right appears to be the long handle with the black plastic plate. The one on the left looks like a short handle razor, but with the angle I can't be sure. If it is the short handle it seems to be, I believe that makes it the black beauty. I am also told that neither of them show signs of rust or brass corrosion, just a light scummy build up.

Let me know what you all see. I'm not sure how long it will be till I get them though.

Well I will have to see them and make sure that everything is working on the adjustable bits, but I am also told that they open and close smoothly so we will see.

These are Gillette Super Adjustable razors made from 1968 to 1988. Date codes can be found on the bottom side of the plate and take the form of a single letter. N is a 1968, Z is a 1979, A is a 1980 etc. There is also a stand alone number, 1-4 that will appear usually opposite the letter. This gives the quarter of the year for manufacture so an N 1 razor is made between 1 January and 31 March 1968. The Slim Adjustable was made from 1961 to 1968 and to the best of my knowledge never had a black handle.

These are superior razors although not as beefy or necessarily as "elegant" as the slim or as balanced as the Fat Boy. By the time these razors entered production, Gillette had the adjustable technology down very well and didn't need to over engineer etc.